Thursday, September 29, 2022

    Latest Posts

    The Drum and the WFA search for the next Global Marketer of the Year

    Nominations are now open for The Drum and World Federation of Advertisers’ annual Global Marketer of the Year award. 

    The Drum and the World Federation of Advertisers (WFA) have partnered for a fifth year to celebrate marketers.

    The coveted award recognizes the work of global and regional marketers, putting a spotlight on the executives who are making a difference by inspiring their teams and adapting effectively to new ways of working and living, while also creating brand strategies that have a positive impact on both society and their companies.

    Those nominated should demonstrate outstanding leadership in two or more of the following four areas:

    • Driving initiatives that contribute toward sustainable business growth/practices

    • Optimizing their global marketing organization, including working more effectively with partners

    • Delivering stand-out innovation and creative effectiveness

    • Playing an industry leadership role, for example around furthering the Diversity & Inclusion agenda

    They should also have been working for their current employer for two years or more.

    Nominations can be made through the website or sent to The deadline for nominations is October 16 2022.

    Nominations will be considered by the expert jury in October, with those shortlisted being profiled by The Drum and on the WFA’s website later in the year.

    The winner will be decided by a combination of public voting by the industry and the expert jury verdict, with each counting for half of the final score. The winner will be announced in January 2023.

    To celebrate the five previous editions of Global Marketer of the Year, the WFA has also revealed a Hall of Fame, featuring all 22 marketers who have been shortlisted for this prestigious award since it was first launched in 2017. Marketers who are shortlisted for this year’s and future awards will also join the list, which can be seen here.

    WFA president, Mastercard chief marketing and communications officer, and jury chair Raja Rajamannar said: “It’s always a pleasure to see the nominations for WFA Global Marketer of the Year, and I have no doubt that this year’s nominees will once again demonstrate how marketers can react with agility, create new business models and adapt to rapidly-changing conditions around the world.

    “Marketing success is a real test of ingenuity, ambition and capacity, and we need to celebrate those who have truly made a difference to their business.”

    The inaugural Global Marketer of the Year was won in 2017 by Keith Weed, Unilever’s then chief marketing and communications officer. He was followed by Raja Rajamannar in 2018 and by Lubomira Rochet, then chief digital officer at L’Oréal in 2019. In 2020, the award was won by Marc Pritchard, chief brand officer at Procter & Gamble, while last year’s winner was Conny Braams, chief digital and commercial officer at Unilever.

    “Covid restrictions may be easing, but marketers are facing new challenges around inflation, escalating political tensions and the cost of living crisis,” added Stephan Loerke, chief executive of WFA.

    “They need to be agile and creative, as well as mindful of their responsibility to the wider society to be truly successful. Those that can achieve all of those things deserve to be celebrated for their ability to use marketing to drive their businesses forward for the benefit of shareholders, partners and people.”

    <!-- noValidation -->

    Latest Posts

    Don't Miss

    Stay in touch

    To be updated with all the latest news, offers and special announcements.